HOMEABOUT USOUR HISTORYTOWN HISTORY#TBTNEWS-EVENTSMAPSLINKSFINDING AID MUSEUM STORE
ARCHIVE- HISTORY NOTES  

South Park Estates

by Andrea Taupier, Board member, Longmeadow Historical Society

This is a photo of 37 South Park Avenue located near the corner of South Park Avenue and Roseland Terrace. The original owner, Owen McIntyre built this house in 1899 for the cost of $3500. It was one of the first built in South Park Estates. 

The arrival of a trolley line to Longmeadow Street in 1896 linked our town to the cities of Springfield in the north and Hartford in the south.  This created rapid growth and South Park Estates was the first of several planned subdivisions built within easy access to the trolley line. 

South Park Estates is a 45-acre tract of land purchased from the Colton Family in 1898 by William Cheney, Theodore Leete and Edward Murphy who described this planned neighborhood as "featuring spacious streets and terraces with a charming circular park at the center". Bounded by Forest Glen Road, and Laurel, Converse and Longmeadow Streets, most house architecture in this area is Queen Ann Style (see photo above), Colonial Revival or Craftsman (also known as Bungalow).
 
For additional information on South Park Estates and the growth of Longmeadow read the article The Streetcar Suburb by Susan Hall/ Chris Hall found in the archives of the Longmeadow Historical Society.


Check back to the History Notes Archive often to read new articles as they are posted.


Longmeadow Historical Society

697 Longmeadow Street
Longmeadow, MA 01106
(413) 567-3600
LongmeadowHS@gmail.com
 
Website Design by LongmeadowBiz, LLC